11 Reviews

Made these with my 5 year old as per instructions, but used brown sugar instead of honey. We also made these into 24 muffins, instead of bread. Dense and moist. REALLY like the coconut. Gives it a little something extra and some texture. And of course, the chcoloate chips are a hit with the kiddos. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m_e_g_g September 01, 2012

This is a good, moist recipe. I used the brown sugar instead of honey and made small muffins instead of a loaf. This probably helped with the moistness. In addition, I didn't use the full amount of hot water the recipe calls for as my batter was moist even after adding the dry ingredients. I had a heavy hand when it came to adding the chocolate chips so next time I make these with the amount the recipe calls for or even less. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vmcasa35 May 24, 2011

Loved it. I added about 1/3 cup vanilla yogurt and it was just the right amount of moist. Its also not too sweet, but the coconut gives it a lot of flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarphine December 22, 2009

This is a really unique bread. It definitely became more moist after the second day. I think I would try maple syrup next time or half honey, half brown sugar to sweeten it as a couple reviewers suggested. I listened to a few reviews that said this was dry so I added a little plain yogurt to the batter for a little extra moisture and it seemed to work out well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian Baker October 27, 2008

I did have my doubts about this. But it was wonderful. Thanks for such an easy, healthy and delicious snack. I used 1/2 honey and 1/2 brown sugar and followed the recipe as is. Lisa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LMillerRN August 09, 2007

Really yummy. Got about 15 slices out of this since I split the recipe in half. Used applesauce for oil & 1/4 cup mini choc chips. Turned out really yummy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS February 28, 2006

I love all these ingredients so was very hopeful for this recipe but I found the finished product to be extremely dry. I used brown sugar, and everything else per the recipe. Maybe a bit more oil would help.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou September 03, 2005

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I love this recipe so much and I lost my paper copy, and have been searching for two days on the internet to find this site again. The only thing I altered was to add more banana and I used grain-sweetened chocolate chips (taste just like chocolate chips, but they are sweetened by grain and not sugar). YUMMY!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthyGal August 16, 2005

I made 3 small loaves with this recipe and my husband ate at least 2 loaves by himself. A definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Java July 08, 2005

I waited a few days to post a review of this, and I am glad I did. I really really did not like this bread when I first made it. Since it is 100% whole wheat, it's really heavy, and it seemed kind of dry at first. It was monumentally better the second day, and best the day after that. I would've liked more banana flavor so I would add another one in next time, but I loved the honey flavor and its light sweetness. I think with some tweaking this could even be a quick sandwich-type bread. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl February 05, 2005
Chocolate Chip Coconut Banana Bread