Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Cherry Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cherry Bars

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2001

      Easy recipe... really festive served in individual silver/colored cupcake papers. I brought these bars to a Christmas cookie swap. I have had calls all day asking for the recipe! A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      These make for a beautiful bar cookie on your Christmas cookie tray! The flavor is difficult to describe but the crust is buttery and crisp with a crunchy chewy filling. I was bit surprised that the maraschino cherries did not impart as much flavor as I have seen in other baked goods but realize they are competing with the flavor and texture of the coconut and pecans. These are not overly sweet (could have been a bit sweeter for me), and go very nicely with a cup of coffee. They added very a nice touch to my Christmas cookie trays for school and work. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2002

      Made these to take to dinner at SIL's for thanksgiving. But of course we had to try them first to make sure they were ok. They were more than ok. Really easy to put together and tasty besides. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      My Grandmother made these bars every Christmas! For a feastive touch she would use both Red and Green Marishino Cherries. Thanks for bringing back fond memories of my youth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      Easy and delicious. Substituted pecans with choc chips as I had run out of pecans. Got the thumbs up from everyone who tried them. This is going to be a much used recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      Loved this! I made exactly as written this time, but next I might beat in 3oz. of cream cheese and 1/2T. lemon juice with the butter and egg mixture to give it a cheesecake-like texture & flavor. I used pecans and red maraschino cherries and these were really pretty dusted with powdered sugar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      I quickly whipped up a batch of these on Christmas Eve afternoon, to add to the sweets platter I was taking to a family party that night. I'm so glad I did! This recipe was simple to prepare, using ingredients I always have on hand during the holidays. I used pecans, plus used a combination of red and green cherries to make it even more festive. I cut these into small squares to put out. They were a big hit with all the family members, with the exception of the one cherry-hater. This will become a regular holiday recipe for me; thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      yummy, yummy..I made these for my holiday treats and they are so easy to make and have the most wonderful taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      These were very easy to make and were enjoyed by my coconut loving friends. My mini chopper made fast work of chopping the nuts and the cherries! I followed the recipe as stated but dusted the top with powdered sugar after I cut the cookies into bars. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      These are quick to make, delicious, and look good too. I subbed 1/2 c mini chocolate chips for the nuts. I really liked the chocolate/cherry/coconut combo, but I'm sure the recipe also tastes great as written. My only (slight) complaint is that the crust was a bit crumbly. They held together pretty well, but you definitely needed a plate to eat them. I think adding a bit of liquid to the crust might help this, but would probably ruin its buttery short texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      I have made these for 36 yrs we call them angel bars, the only diff being there is 1 tsp vanilla in the filling and we ice them with a white or plain butter frosting, they are wonderful, try these 2 little changes if you like....blueangelica54

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      these are a good bar thanks for posting this recipe out

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      I made these for my family for Christmas. I chopped my cherries a little to small which I regret, but a very nice treat to have with coffee. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2004

      Baked these exactly as directed. when I took them out of the oven I expected to see little pieces of cherries and pecans, along with slivers of coconut. Nothing but a solid light brown crust. Very pretty, cooled it and cut into squares. The inside was beautiful with pieces of cherries,pecans, and coconut all through it. My wife inhaled 5 squares before I got them all cut up. Excellent recipe. The only thing I will do differently next time is douible the recipe. Jim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cherry Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (27 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.4
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    51%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 27.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 58.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    maraschino cherries

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites