Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Better Than Sex Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Better Than Sex Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2010

      This is also a favorite of mine! AIthough I prefer to use Devil's Food Cake mix and Mrs.Richardson's Carmel Butterscotch topping. I think it is sweet enough without the condensed milk, so, I omitted it, and it was fine. Some hints to try are: Use a straw instead of a wooden spoon to poke the holes and the cake mix won't stick. Also, allow the cake to sit overnight in the fridge with the carmel topping before you add the cool whip and it will be even better! Thanks for the recipe! They loved it at work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      I love this cake but like another reviewer, I will NOT use Cool Whip because it has an awful after taste and if you ever read the ingredients on the bowl, you will realize it is just a bunch of chemicals and NOT food. Whip up some real whipped cream and add a bit of powdered sugar and 2 TBL of softened cream cheese so that it keeps firm longer. It only takes five minutes to do this. You will be glad you made the substitution. And I too, have made it with chocolate cake mix and the results were great. Mrs. Richardson's Carmel Topping is the best Store bought topping I have ever tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      Awesome! This is the one I was looking for, the one we made back in the 70s, very rich and decadent. I made a homemade chocolate cake instead of using the mix as I didn't have one. I don't think the cake matters, as long as it's chocolate since the toppings are what make this better than sex!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      I wasn't sure if I should post a review because I made so many changes. I decided I should because it came out so well and I think you could mix and match using so many combinations and the cake would turn out great. I had odds and ends that I wanted to use up so that was my motivation for the changes I made. I used a butter cake mix, only a half can of sweetened condensed milk, homemade caramel sauce, cool whip and no chopped toffee. I had the toffee, but thought it may be too sweet. The cake turned out delicious. I'm looking forward to trying this technique using a made from scratch cake and real whipped cream. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      I used devil's food mix and real whipped cream plopped on top. Very good cake. I would say it serves 15, you really don't want a giant piece of this. I also used another recipe at this site, Cake Mix Extender, which I now use every time I make a cake mix cake for a higher, bigger cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      I respect box mix and whip mix as a college student. But, I have to disagree on the flavors of the cake and it's too processed and sweet for my taste buds. The texture is also little on the off-putting side. Finally, on the title few cakes are better than sex but this is nowhere close to a good cake. <br/><br/>P.S: I love my desserts. Sorry I couldn't lie. This cake needs a huge makeover and plastic surgery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      I've been making this recipe for over 20 years. Delicious! My boys were little then so their grandmother decided to keep the 'sex' part out of the name. She named it BETTER THAN ROBERT REDFORD CAKE. My boys shortened it to ROBERT REDFORD CAKE. I use any chocolate cake mix. And if course, the sweetened condensed milk! No such thing as being too sweet. I TRY to make it a day ahead to let all the goo seep in, but usually it's gone the same day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      This cake is so good!! It is also pretty simple to make. I love it and I usually do not like cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      I had this cake at a party and immediately had to ask how to make it. That was a while ago, so I had to look for the recipe and I'm so glad I found it! It truly is the best cake I've ever had. Crushed Heath candy bar was used and it's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      My mom asked me to track down and make this recipe for her a few months ago and I'm so glad she did! I thought the cake was FANTASTIC and I will definitely make it again! The recipe was easy to follow and seamless. I used Mrs. Richardson's Caramel-Butterscotch topping, which I think (along with the Heath toffee pieces) really pushed it over the edge! Wow! Make sure to allow a lot of time for the sweetened condensed milk to soak into the cake (I even used the back of a spoon after about 20 minutes to kind of thin it out and push some into the holes to speed the process along a bit and make the inside extra moist. =) What can I say, I made it late at night! :)) The cake's extremely rich and it was a little too much so for my hubby, but the rest of us adored it! Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      I didn't make this cake from this recipe, but I wanted to comment. I have a recipe from my mother with the title Better Than Sex Cake that is totally different than this. This recipe (BTS) is the exact same recipe that I have titled Holy Cow Cake. Everything is the exact same from the ingredients to the way it's prepared. I love it and make it for different functions. People love it everywhere I take it. I vary the candy on top. I've used chopped Snicker bars, Butterfingers, or Reeses. I also add chopped pecans on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      OMG!!! This is one sweet moist and rich cake! I made it as directed, except I substituted butterscotch chips instead of toffee cause I couldn't find them in the store and I was too lazy to make toffee. D'lish! Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      Try looking up Trileachie Cake, only difference is you made it with chocolate cake mix. There are several versions so pick the one that best suites you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2014

      I'm so glad to finally find this recipe. I've eaten years ago but never found the recipe. I will definitely make this cake. Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      Worth every calorie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      I have made this cake for years. ALWAYS a hit. Its funny because even without people knowing the real name I was always hearing "Omg its better than sex". I only have one difference in the recipe. I have always just crushed up a Skor bar and sprinkled that on top. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Better Than Sex Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 531.3
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    39%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 68.1 mg
    22%
    Sodium 454.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.4 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 45.7 g
    182%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes