10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good Cake. I tried you suggestion with heating the brown sugar and milk and I had to throw it out and start over again because it separated before all the sugar melted...I cooked it on 2 (low). Maybe try it with the butter, but I'd remove the suggestion - doesn't work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacque mamma of 2 August 12, 2009

Very yummy. I had some bananas that needed to be used up and this is the recipe I chose to use them in. I am so glad for this website and the many wonderful recipes. Your recipe is one I will make again and again. Its easy,. economical and tasty too. THank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 06, 2009

This is a very nice banana cake and a great way to use up those "beyond ripe" bananas. I frosted it with White Frosting as I have been looking for something to try that frosting recipe on and it was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenJellyBean May 09, 2008

I've been eyeing this recipe for a long time and glad I finally gave it a try! I made for breakfast and everyone loved (even my daughter who doesn't like banana bread!). This was fluffy and "cake-like" and would be just as good sprinkled with powdered sugar, too. I had some leftover brown sugar glaze (3 tbs. each brown/white sugar, boiled with 3 tbs. evap. milk, and when cooled added 1/2 cup powd. sugar.), just enough to lightly frost the top and it set it off nicely (like the old Sara Lee banana cake!). Thanks so much for posting, Homegirl. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado January 21, 2008

I made this recipe with minor changes...I added 1/2 tspn baking powder, used butter, and I used cake flour. This was delicious. It is exactly what I was looking for, a banana cake, not a banana loaf. The texture was light but not too fluffy, the crumb was very fine and the cake was moist. I didn't serve it with any frosting. Thank you. I will be making this for years to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fofi August 19, 2007

Oh yummy! I didn't do the frosting in the recipe because I was out of powdered sugar. Instead I used store bought vanilla. Holy smokes was it deeeellllicious! We ate it within a few days. Definately would recommend this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbakolo July 20, 2007

Made this today without frosting. It is indeed moist and flavorful and quite easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenofpace June 30, 2007

eek, I accidently rated the wrong banana cake... This cake is outstanding!! I wasn't to keen at first but after refridgerating it it was sooo tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessiica March 16, 2007

Oh, this is SO good! Moist and buttery with a fabulous penuche type frosting. I used butter instead of margarine and left out the nuts. In the interest of speed, I cooked the brown sugar, butter and milk in a saucepan until melted, then stirred in the powdered suagr, so my frosting was more the consistency of a Texas sheet cake frosting. Fabulous flavor. Looking at Laurie's review, I would probably combine the brown sugar and milk, then add the butter and powdered sugar. I've had this saved in my cookbook for sometime, having been tempted by the beautiful picture, and am so glad I finally tried it. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 24, 2006

This cake is really good, very moist and kind of dense and extremely tasty. I did have a problem with the frosting being grainy tasting though and I think it may be from the non cooking of the brown sugar. I left the nuts out of the cake itself and sprinkled them on top of the frosting on half the cake. That half you dont notice the grainy texture so much. Bev I will make this again and will definately play around with the frosting. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE February 12, 2006
Banana Snack Cake