Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Banana Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Bars

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2002

      Alright, how dare you post something so good I almost eat half a pan myself. I will probably make this instead of banana bread from now on. I made it without the frosting and they are wonderful. I wish that I could give these 10 stars. Well if you will excuse me now, I need to finish the other half and then make some more before my husband gets home so he doesn't see how many I ate. I can no longer blame the children, they are old enough to tell on me now!!! Thank you very much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      Ok, here goes! my specialty is healthful food cooking without diminishing flavor. SO.. i would like to suggest a few substitutions that would lower the fat(at least the saturated part) and spare some calories, i promise it will work. replace the shortening with a soft vegetable spread, leaving out about 1/4 cup. Replace the eggs with 2 Tbsp of canola per egg, or half and half oil and water. Diminish the sugar by one third. I bet you they will still be wonderful to all... and look what you spared yourself! lol.. now you CAN eat 2! Karyl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2003

      These were wonderful--big hit at a get-together...dense and rich

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      Fantastic, it never lasts long when I make it! One of my kids favorites and in their top five most requested things for me to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2012

      Great recipe, and filled my 9 x 13 almost as high as a regular cake would. I only made one change in the ingredients, and that was to use a stick of 0 trans fat margarine instead of shortening. I will also admit to taking my usual shortcut for banana bread/cake recipes-- making the batter in the food processor. I just throw the bananas and all the wet ingredients in and spin until smooth and frothy (including the fats and sugars) and then add the baking soda and salt, spin briefly, then the flour until incorporated, nuts last. Faster than a speeding bullet and the texture is always perfect. This is a great recipe and the mix of the sugars, bananas, etc is perfectly balanced. Moist and springy, with a fine crumb. Don't hesitate to make this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      My husband, son, and friends LOVE this recipe! I feel so good giving this to them since it's homemade and it's so easy because I have all of the ingredients already. I haven't made it with the icing, it's good on it's own! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      I went on a search for a recipe (other than banana bread) that would allow me to use up my old bananas, and I found this one. Although, this recipe taste much like banana bread it is more like a cake. I've never made frosting like this before. I may have added a bit too much confec. sugar, but it was still delicious. My husband and I each had a piece while it was still warm. I frosted the pieces separately. It was deliciously wonderful. This morning, I couldn't resit tasting it cool. Again, it was just as delicious as it was the night before. Next time I may bake it in a larger pan so the bars will be a bit thinner. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      The frosting makes these ordinary bars SPECTACULAR! The cake is nice & moist but the frosting adds another dimension to the flavour!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.8
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    38%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 31.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 363.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 24.0 g
    96%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes