8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Alright, how dare you post something so good I almost eat half a pan myself. I will probably make this instead of banana bread from now on. I made it without the frosting and they are wonderful. I wish that I could give these 10 stars. Well if you will excuse me now, I need to finish the other half and then make some more before my husband gets home so he doesn't see how many I ate. I can no longer blame the children, they are old enough to tell on me now!!! Thank you very much!!!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayla October 01, 2002

Ok, here goes! my specialty is healthful food cooking without diminishing flavor. SO.. i would like to suggest a few substitutions that would lower the fat(at least the saturated part) and spare some calories, i promise it will work. replace the shortening with a soft vegetable spread, leaving out about 1/4 cup. Replace the eggs with 2 Tbsp of canola per egg, or half and half oil and water. Diminish the sugar by one third. I bet you they will still be wonderful to all... and look what you spared yourself! lol.. now you CAN eat 2! Karyl

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karyl Lee October 26, 2002

These were wonderful--big hit at a get-together...dense and rich

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted April 26, 2003

Fantastic, it never lasts long when I make it! One of my kids favorites and in their top five most requested things for me to bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marney February 09, 2013

Great recipe, and filled my 9 x 13 almost as high as a regular cake would. I only made one change in the ingredients, and that was to use a stick of 0 trans fat margarine instead of shortening. I will also admit to taking my usual shortcut for banana bread/cake recipes-- making the batter in the food processor. I just throw the bananas and all the wet ingredients in and spin until smooth and frothy (including the fats and sugars) and then add the baking soda and salt, spin briefly, then the flour until incorporated, nuts last. Faster than a speeding bullet and the texture is always perfect. This is a great recipe and the mix of the sugars, bananas, etc is perfectly balanced. Moist and springy, with a fine crumb. Don't hesitate to make this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaylee June 05, 2012

My husband, son, and friends LOVE this recipe! I feel so good giving this to them since it's homemade and it's so easy because I have all of the ingredients already. I haven't made it with the icing, it's good on it's own! LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseR November 13, 2008

I went on a search for a recipe (other than banana bread) that would allow me to use up my old bananas, and I found this one. Although, this recipe taste much like banana bread it is more like a cake. I've never made frosting like this before. I may have added a bit too much confec. sugar, but it was still delicious. My husband and I each had a piece while it was still warm. I frosted the pieces separately. It was deliciously wonderful. This morning, I couldn't resit tasting it cool. Again, it was just as delicious as it was the night before. Next time I may bake it in a larger pan so the bars will be a bit thinner. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SewandXit June 20, 2007

The frosting makes these ordinary bars SPECTACULAR! The cake is nice & moist but the frosting adds another dimension to the flavour!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb July 09, 2005
Banana Bars