Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Baking / Apple Upside-Down Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Upside-Down Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2009

      Yum! This is just all kinds of good comfort food in one dish! I used granny smith apples & couldn't find my 9x9 baking pan (probably in the freezer or at a friend's house) so I had to use the 8x8. I didn't change the amount of ingredients or the cooking time & everything went smoothly. The texture of the cake is incredibly moist with all the grated apple and the apple halves (I left the peel on those) were like little built-in cups of homemade applesauce. DELISH! The cake isn't too sweet. Would make a great coffee cake for brunch. I think it could even go a little sweeter when using the granny smith apples. I'll definitely be making this again & might try subbing a bit of brown sugar in for some of the white sugar in the cake portion. The caramelized apple tops were so good! I'm so glad I decided to make this recipe (as your nobby cake & congo bars were also on my list)! Made & enjoyed for the Spring 2009 Pick A Chef Orphanage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      Easy! Yummy! I did peel the apples (personal preference). I used gala apples since that is what I had on hand. I topped with whipped cream as I didn't have any vanilla ice cream but ice cream would have been awesome! Definitely goes into my "great desserts for fall" folder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Posted its 'mug' and made for Alphabet Soup Tag...oh, and what all the other reviewers said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This cake was a hit at our superbowl party. It was quite delicious and easy to make. The hardest thing about it was peeling and chopping the apples. I did not have ginger and could not find the cinnamon so I substituted pumpkin pie spice whihc worked well. All I had were granny smith apples but they actually worked well in this recipe. It has been less than 24 hours since I made it and about 3/4 of it is gone already. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This was really good. I used honey crisp apples. It was super easy and the directions are perfect. I only wish I would have had the ice cream to go with it. Thanks for sharing such a nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      A very moist, dense, delicious cake. The shredded apples made it so moist and it had a lot of cinnamon flavor. I only used four med sized apples which was plenty. I even got to use an unusual type of apple called a Lemonade Apple. It has light yellow skin w lightly tart yet sweet crunchy flesh. Turned out great in my cake. Everyone who got a slice liked it too. I'd make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2014

      I only had one apple which I grated for the cake part and then I used strawberries for the bottom. OMG it is SO SO good. A wonderful moist and delicious cake. Easy peasy to put together and make. Thank you :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2014

      This is fall comfort at its best! Truly delicious! I doubled the recipe to put in a 9x13 which makes a lot of cake! I'm not sure I used as many apples, but mine may have been a little bigger too. I left the peel on for the ones that you put on the bottom of the pan and they were good that way. I sliced them in thick slices. I laid as many slices as I could fit on the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      The time/temp. combination seemed WILDLY off. When I cooked this the top was dry and developed a big crack, the center was clean to testing, and after cooling, over 90% of the cake part was wet, soggy, and tasted of uncooked flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Upside-Down Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.5
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    36%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 54.8 mg
    18%
    Sodium 206.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 33.1 g
    132%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes