10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! This is just all kinds of good comfort food in one dish! I used granny smith apples & couldn't find my 9x9 baking pan (probably in the freezer or at a friend's house) so I had to use the 8x8. I didn't change the amount of ingredients or the cooking time & everything went smoothly. The texture of the cake is incredibly moist with all the grated apple and the apple halves (I left the peel on those) were like little built-in cups of homemade applesauce. DELISH! The cake isn't too sweet. Would make a great coffee cake for brunch. I think it could even go a little sweeter when using the granny smith apples. I'll definitely be making this again & might try subbing a bit of brown sugar in for some of the white sugar in the cake portion. The caramelized apple tops were so good! I'm so glad I decided to make this recipe (as your nobby cake & congo bars were also on my list)! Made & enjoyed for the Spring 2009 Pick A Chef Orphanage.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** May 09, 2009

Easy! Yummy! I did peel the apples (personal preference). I used gala apples since that is what I had on hand. I topped with whipped cream as I didn't have any vanilla ice cream but ice cream would have been awesome! Definitely goes into my "great desserts for fall" folder!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie September 27, 2012

Posted its 'mug' and made for Alphabet Soup Tag...oh, and what all the other reviewers said!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng February 19, 2010

This cake was a hit at our superbowl party. It was quite delicious and easy to make. The hardest thing about it was peeling and chopping the apples. I did not have ginger and could not find the cinnamon so I substituted pumpkin pie spice whihc worked well. All I had were granny smith apples but they actually worked well in this recipe. It has been less than 24 hours since I made it and about 3/4 of it is gone already. I will definitely make this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dr.momde47 February 08, 2010

This was really good. I used honey crisp apples. It was super easy and the directions are perfect. I only wish I would have had the ice cream to go with it. Thanks for sharing such a nice recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY October 09, 2009

A very moist, dense, delicious cake. The shredded apples made it so moist and it had a lot of cinnamon flavor. I only used four med sized apples which was plenty. I even got to use an unusual type of apple called a Lemonade Apple. It has light yellow skin w lightly tart yet sweet crunchy flesh. Turned out great in my cake. Everyone who got a slice liked it too. I'd make it again. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
claudiansatx September 05, 2013

Excellent moist Cake!!! I added ground clove (1 tsp) to the brown sugar topping and some<br/>raisins soaked in Vernors (a very gingery ale soda in Michigan) YUMMY!!! Experimenting with an apple-pear mixture next. A versatile recipe that is friendly to bakers who like to morph<br/>recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolAnn P. January 27, 2015

I only had one apple which I grated for the cake part and then I used strawberries for the bottom. OMG it is SO SO good. A wonderful moist and delicious cake. Easy peasy to put together and make. Thank you :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caro NZ November 23, 2014

This is fall comfort at its best! Truly delicious! I doubled the recipe to put in a 9x13 which makes a lot of cake! I'm not sure I used as many apples, but mine may have been a little bigger too. I left the peel on for the ones that you put on the bottom of the pan and they were good that way. I sliced them in thick slices. I laid as many slices as I could fit on the bottom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW September 11, 2014

The time/temp. combination seemed WILDLY off. When I cooked this the top was dry and developed a big crack, the center was clean to testing, and after cooling, over 90% of the cake part was wet, soggy, and tasted of uncooked flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quit2k December 11, 2012
Apple Upside-Down Cake