Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Apple Slice With Creamy Topping Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple Slice With Creamy Topping

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2010

      A little lady down the street was selling organic apples that cost not much more then pocket money for a kid in the 80's :). So I used her apples to make this recipe. The vanilla cake mix I used was a Greens brand, (couldn't find a shop brand one). I used shredded coconuts and then kept to the recipe. I brought this slice to a family function and everyone enjoyed it. I think I overcooked the base a little so it was very crispy but not teeth breaking. The sour cream with the apple turned out really well. Thanks Mummamills for a great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Made for Australia/NZ Swap #22 The last "pie" I made. was as a newly-wed, 1/2 century ago. Since then, Mrs Smith has been my pie chef. I truly enjoyed making and eating this !! DH is not so fond of sour cream (and I had full strength) but I thought it was wonderful! Perhaps my pie dish was smaller, but next time I will make the "crust" thinner -- was like a BIG hard cookie ! Thanks mummamills. Not being certain of a "Moderate" oven, I baked at 350 degrees F.- 27 minutes for the crust, then 17 minutes for the final bake. I also used a 21 ounce can of pie apples. I think the DDs and DGKs will like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

      Great recipe mummamills. I made this slice gluten-free by using a gluten-free cake mix (Basco brand). Used a large can of sweetened sliced pie apples. Turned out great. Very similar to a recipe in the "4 Ingredients" cookbook, only they dont use the cinnamon on top. I also think this slice improves in a day or so

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Oh yum I have made APPLE SLICE for the Zaar recipe swap # 17, 2008. It is to die for with a creamy topping . Bite through the soft creamy top, through the slightly crunchy apples, and the the cakey/biscuit like base. Such a wonderful variety of different textures. This is in no way boring. Thanks for a great recipe, that will be making it's dreamy appearance on the table in a couple of days at my sons 7th birthday :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      5 for easy to make, but I'll definitely be using real apples next time (I was in a rush this time). Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Nice crunchy base and no taste is overpowering all meld well together. I cooked some granny smiths using Apple Pie Filling. With only 4 of us I will be freezing the left overs for later. Thank you mummamills for a new dessert recipe. 12th September 2007 - just used the last of the frozen dessert and it tasted as delicious as the first.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Ummm can I say just I didnt believe this recipe either mummamills.... BUT This was fantstic, and talk about easy!! I must admit I am not a big sour cream fan, but I love these. The sweetness of the apples goes well with the sour cream taste, and the two compliment each other so well. A big hit here, and will be making again when I need an easy and tasty slice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      Beautiful! I used 2x300ml containers of sour cream over this, and an 800g tin of pie apple. Easy and everyone loves this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      I absolutely love this recipe! I use about 1kg of apples before peeling - any variety will do. I peel and slice the apples then boil them with about 1 1/2c. water and 1/2 c. sugar till you achieve the correct softness. Drain the apples and you are on your way. I have now made this recipe about 4 times and it is requested much more often! It takes a bit of time to prep the apples and then cook, but I recommend fresh ingredients whenever you can! Enjoy and thanks to Mummamills for this fabulous share.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple Slice With Creamy Topping

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.9
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    54%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 27.8 mg
    9%
    Sodium 304.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 15.2 g
    61%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes