Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Apple-Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Apple-Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2008

      I was quite happy with this recipe, but it makes an odd cookie, as can be expected by using oil as the fat. The consistency of the cookies was very soft and quite cake-like, and they tended to fall apart after a couple of days of storage. I agree with the other reviewers that the recipe would make excellent muffins or mini-muffins. I wish I had a mini-muffin pan, but when I make this recipe again, I probably will make it in muffin form instead of cookie form. I used old-fashioned oats that i had chopped more finely with my hand-blender attachment as I don't think this recipe would do well with the more rustic texture of plain old-fashioned oats. I also didn't use raisins. I used Jona-Mac apples peeled and chopped finely, which is a bit labor-intensive but worth it. Next time I also might reduce the brown sugar content as I tend to like things less sweet and would like more of the honey character to come through. A final note, I baked my cookies on parchment paper as suggested in other comments, and the cookies seemed to be a bit more brown on the bottom than I would have expected from their tops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Like other reviewers, I made mini-muffins rather than cookies. Here are some tips I hope will help you: you will get 36 mini muffins, fill each muffin tin level with the top, bake 375 for 12 minutes. I plan to frost them with a maple buttercream and then sprinkle with walnuts. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      For this recipe I chose to make mine in mini muffin pans. My DH loved this flavor of them. I loved the flavor of this recipe. Will be making again. Great cookies or mini muffins to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I have been making the same recipe for years and everyone loves them. I omit the raisins too but add a little more apple. I also add 1/4 cup of wheatgerm. You can also drop the batter into muffin pans and make great tasting muffins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      I replaced the raisins with craisins (dried cranberries). I also used 2 egg whites instead of the egg and 1/4 C apple sauce in place of 1/2 the oil. These are awesome and they make the whole house smell delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Yummy!!! A wonderful moist cookie. I omitted the raisins, but add 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. I will definitely make this recipe again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      These smelled AMAZING while baking! We were a littel disappointed by the "cake-like" texture of the cookie. The flavour is good though! We will probably make these again as they are fairly good for you. I think next time, we will end up doing like Toni did and subbing in some applesauce. And I think we will try them without the apple and up the amount of raisins instead. All in all, a good cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      Served these at lunch and they were a huge hit. I replaced half the oil with apple sauce with not only made these a tad bit healthier but intensified the apple flavor. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      Yum! I made a half recipe of these. I liked the fairly large amount of apple in these. This ensured apple pieces in every bite. I also really liked the raisin/apple flavor combo with the chewy texture of the oats. I added half the honey and a little less oil, which turned out great. Thanks for a keeper NimrodCook!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      very good...i used all wholewheat flour(and reduced the quantity by 1/4) very tasty and had many requests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Tasty, healthy cookies! My 5 y/o DS and I had fun making them together (I measured/he poured and mixed, with supervision). Upon tasting, they were a big hit with him, as he has eaten 4 cookies so far and has complimented his own baking abilities off and on for the past couple of hours! :) I followed the directions exactly, except omitted the raisins; DS not a big fan of them. About 1/2 of a large Granny Smith apple, chopped up, covered the 1 cup measurement. I baked them for 15 minutes; they came out very fluffy; moist and cake like. I used my silicone baking sheet. Great recipe; DS and I had a blast making them, even though, after I placed the spoon in DS's hands, step #2 was all over my small counter top! LOL! It was all worth it. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      I liked these my sister-in-law and my neighbor liked them. But my husband and children did not. I thought they looked good, smelled delicious and tasted light and yummy. My husband thought they were too light and fluffy for a cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      Very tasty, moist cookies. Really easy to throw together, too. I used all unbleached a-p flour and skim milk. I also baked these on parchment (I had trouble scraping the first batch off the sheet without). Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      These were really good once I finally got around to making them...(sorry Cath) I left out the raisens and used granny smith apples and baked them on parchment paper. They were moist and flavorful and I only wish my picture would of turned out, BUT BF liked them so much I will be making them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

      Delicious and I think a bit heathier than most other oatmeal cookies without tasting like good-for-you cookies - we all loved them. I used one apple chopped and the amount of raisins indicated resulting in very moist flavorful cookies. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe which we will be making often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      These cookies are wonderful. I did omit the raisins and used self-rising flour and they turned out just fine. If you don't have quick-cooking oats you can use the old-fasioned regular oats, just grind them a little in a food chopper. That's what makes them quick oats. Cooking tip: put them on the top rack in the oven they cook better there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Apple-Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1036 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.9
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    33%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 6.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 62.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites