Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / Amy's Chewy Coconut Bars (Diabetic) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amy's Chewy Coconut Bars (Diabetic)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2010

      Tastes surprisingly good. Made with 2 T splenda, unsweetened coconut and left out the raisins to save on carbs. Didn't rise super high but has good consistency and great coconut maple flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Yum! These are really fantastic. I didn't have any raisins so I increased the Splenda by 1 Tbs., and I used pecans instead of walnuts. I used a margarine that I think is too salty so I omitted the salt. Next time I might be bad and drizzle some dark chocolate on top...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      These are good. I found the prep to be more like 10-15 mins. though. Also they came out a little dry for my liking but that might be because I used whole wheat flour? I will make again though as they are fairly healthy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      These were quick and easy to make, something I appreciate. Fiance was so-so about these - they weren't sweet enough for him, but he's not the one with diabetes! Thanks for sharing. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      Very good for a Splenda dessert (I tend to dislike the aftertaste of Spelnda in baked goods). I used unsweetened coconut and about 6-7 tsps of Splenda. I omitted the raisins and used sliced almonds for the nuts, then spread melted chocolate on top so it resembled a Mounds bar :) I also subsituted real maple syrup for the maple flavoring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      This was THE BEST coconut bar I have ever had. It was soo delicious. I altered the recipe a lot however to lower the number of calories but all in all it is the same basic recipe. First I substituted the eggs with egg beaters, substituted margarine for Promise fat free spread, used unsweetened coconut, used about 15 tsps of splenda since the coconut was unsweetened, and replaced the flour with oatmeal. I also ground the coconut and oatmeal up in a food processor to make the mixture a little less textured. The total calorie count of the recipe is reduced drastically to about 563 calories and still tastes excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      These are excellent! The staff (I work for a church) is hosting a volunteer apreciation luncheon tomorrow and each of us were told to bring a dessert. As there are a lot of church members with diabetes, I thought I'd look for a lower sugar recipe. I came upon this one and had, basically, all the ingredients. (I used whole wheat pastry flour for the flour and Oklahoma pecans instead of walnuts. I also used a blend of different colored raisins.) I made a pan and then left them to cool intending to try a tiny one and then save the rest. My husband and I ate a whole row and had to force ourselves to stop. Really and truly delicious. I have the dry ingredients all ready to make a second pan in the morning so I have enough to take with me! Thanks Toni. This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      5*'s from DH-----he really likes these---I used Egg-Beaters and Promise margarine. I wonder about substituting oatmeal for the coconut? Gonna try that nest, maybe half coconut and half oatmeal. Anyway--thanks a lot for the recipe, I'll be using it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      A nice just sweet enough treat! I made these for a friend of my husbands who is diabetic. I like them too! I didn't have maple flavoring, so used maple syrup. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      These are Deeeelish! Great for a holiday or just any day, really. Chewy and just enough maple. Toni, these are good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amy's Chewy Coconut Bars (Diabetic)

    Serving Size: 1 (32 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 128.8
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    68%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 136.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites