Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Baking / 1995 1st Place: Swedish Spice Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    1995 1st Place: Swedish Spice Cookies

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2007

      These cookies came out delicious! Mine came out very chewy because I accidently added the whole 1 1/2 cups of sugar to the cookie mixture instead of reserving the 1/2 cup for rolling balls in...yumm......! I'll make these again and again! Thanks for posting! :) Martha

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      Ditto to Charmie's comments. These are soooo darned good, and even make the house smell good while baking. I used Black Strap Molasses, we really like molasses here, and these were the best. Will be adding these to my cookies for gift making too as I am certain everyone will appreciate a box of these. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. The Dirty Pan Gang RULES!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      This is an excellent spice cookie - crispy on the outside and slightly chewy on the inside. I added a little allspice, and will also try some cardamom next time. I just gave these a light roll through colored sugar (making some red and some green for Christmas) instead of coating them with regular sugar. Because colored sugar is usually more coarse than granulated sugar, I find it leaves a gritty texture if the cookie is completely coated in it. Thanks for a very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      These are awesome cookies! I added a bit of mace and allspice to mine and they are excellent. Thank you very much for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      My DH took these to work every day for over a week and he asked me to make them again. For him to tell me he likes something is unusual, so I knew he must have REALLY liked them a lot! I made following the recipe exactly and the result was a crispy on the outside, chewy inside delicious cookie that we both really liked! I can see why they won 1st place! Roni

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      Great cookie! I added some ground cloves and ground mace because I was in the mood for them. The cookie has nice texture - crisp outside, soft inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      I have looked for years for the cookies my best friend's Mom made when we were kids ... Spicy Crinkles they were called. These cookies are exactly what I have been looking for. I made them thin and crispy and I, and my whole family LOVED them. They didn't last long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      LOVED these. I only made half a recipe so the dough was very wet seeing that I couldn't really "half" an egg hehehe. I didn't have any molasses so I used pure maple syurp and they still tasted soooo good. I also sprinkled in a little cayenne pepper to give it an extra kick. Because the dough was so wet they spread like crazy so the cookies were super thin but I still thought they were excellent! I will for sure make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I loved these! I had to make them last minute, and i didn't have any ground cloves...but they turned out great! I will make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      SOOOOOOOOOO excellent!!!!! Thanks CIH!!!! But I have no idea how you got so many cookies! I ended up with 28....maybe I made them too big, but we loved them. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      I found a new cookie for my favorites cookie cookbook. These are crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside, and pack a wonderful spice flavor. Very pretty and sparkly from the sugar crystals. I don't really care for the taste of molasses, and tried Louisiana ribbon cane syrup instead. It has the same color and texture, and a taste that is similar to the thick Dutch syrup I remember. It worked beautifully in this cookie. Thanks so much for posting this winner that will be made again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 1995 1st Place: Swedish Spice Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.7
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    35%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 19.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 165.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 11.6 g
    46%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites